Patanjali’s Sutras

Yoga teacher training touched on the spiritual and philosophical aspects of yoga and specifically the Yoga Sutras by Patanjali.  Other texts were mentioned as well, but Patanjali provides a short and seemingly simple path.  I say seemingly because I’ve outlined the path below – eight things, you think, how hard could that be – as they are all items that deserve attention on their own.  This post will serve as a reference as more time is later spent on the various items and their interpretations and applications in my own life.

  1. Yamas – ethical standards, actions relating to external world
    1. Ahimsa – Do no harm
    2. Satya – Truthfulness, in word and thought
    3. Asteya – Non-stealing / coveting
    4. Brahmacharya – Abstinence
    5. Aparigraha – Non-possessiveness
  2. Niyamas – self-discipline, relating to ourselves
    1. Saucha – Cleanliness
    2. Samtosa – Contentment
    3. Tapas – Spiritual
    4. Svadhyaya – Study of vedic scriptures
    5. Isvara pranidhana – Worship of God
  3. Asana – the physical poses
  4. Pranayama – controlling the breath
  5. Pratyahara – detaching from senses, while remaining aware
  6. Dharana – concentration on a single point
  7. Dhyana – meditation
  8. Samadhi – oneness  with meditation object and  per Patanjali a state of ecstasy


Leave a Reply